Screening instrument for early detection of neurodegenerative disease progression.

The time of diagnosis has a decisive influence on the treatment and chances of recovery from diseases. For example, numerous screening examinations are offered for cancer and cardiovascular diseases. For neurodegenerative diseases, on the other hand (e.g. Parkinson’s disease or Alzheimer’s disease), no screening is currently offered.

Due to demographic developments, neurodegenerative diseases are increasing significantly. They are the major health economic challenges of our time. At the clinical manifestation of symptoms, the neurodegenerative process is already irreversibly advanced, whereby the actual disease manifestation is preceded by a long preliminary phase (prodromal phase) of the disease.

Currently, there are numerous drugs in clinical development that can be used to realise a curative therapy approach. However, the use of these neuroprotectants requires early disease detection before the affected brain areas are irreversibly damaged. Therefore, it is necessary to develop an efficient and inexpensive screening examination in the sense of a preventive examination for neurodegenerative diseases.

saniva diagnostics GmbH, which was founded as a spin-off of the University Hospital Jena and has applied for a European patent, is dealing with this problem. With a specific motor screening instrument, patients at risk are to be identified earlier and consequently benefit from a curative treatment approach.

Neuromex diagnostic

Our research and development project is subsidised by the ERDF (European Regional Development Fund) with funds from the European Union!

FTI for single-company research and development projects, 

Funding body: Thüringer Aufbaubank

Project number: 2019 FE 0151

Screening Instrument zur Früherkennung neurodegenerativer Krankheitsverläufe.

Der Zeitpunkt der Diagnosestellung hat einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Behandlung und die Heilungschancen von Erkrankungen. So werden zahlreiche Vorsorgeuntersuchungen für Krebs- und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen angeboten. Bei neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen hingegen (z.B. Morbus Parkinson oder Morbus Alzheimer) werden derzeit keine Vorsorgeuntersuchungen angeboten.
 
Aufgrund der demographischen Entwicklung nehmen neurodegenerative Erkrankungen deutlich zu. Sie sind die großen gesundheitsökonomischen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Bei der klinischen Manifestation von Symptomen ist der neurodegenerative Prozess schon irreversibel fortgeschritten, wobei der eigentlichen Erkrankungsmanifestation eine lange Vorphase (Prodromalphase) der Erkrankung vorausgeht.
 
Derzeit befinden sich zahlreiche Medikamente in der klinischen Entwicklung, womit ein kurativer Therapieansatz realisiert werden kann. Der Einsatz dieser Neuroprotektiva setzt allerdings die frühzeitige Krankheitserkennung voraus, bevor die betroffenen Hirnareale irreversibel geschädigt sind. Deswegen ist es notwendig, eine effiziente und günstige Screening-Untersuchung im Sinne einer Vorsorgeuntersuchung für neurodegenerative Erkrankungen zu entwickeln.
 
Mit diesem Problem beschäftigt sich die saniva diagnostics GmbH, die als Spin-off des Universitätsklinikums Jena entstand und ein europäisches Patent angemeldet hat. Mit einem spezifischen motorischen Screening-Instrument sollen Risikopatienten früher identifiziert werden und folglich von einem kurativen Behandlungsansatz profitieren.
Neuromex diagnostic

Unser Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben wird bezuschusst durch den EFRE-Fonds (Europäischer Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung) mit Mitteln der Europäischen Union!

FTI für Einzelbetriebliche Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte, 

Förderträger: Thüringer Aufbaubank

Vorhabennummer: 2019 FE 0151